NaNoWriMo 2016

It’s NaNoWriMo! Yes it’s halfway through the month and I’m just writing about it.

This year, I said I was going to join in and write my novel…I’ve joined but I haven’t written a word.

I sat here in front of my computer and just stared at the screen. There were so many ideas in my head but I didn’t know which one to write. When I’ve finally settled on one of the novel ideas that I had in my head, I was stuck. I didn’t know where to start.

I needed a plan or an outline of the story. I knew what I wanted to write about but I needed that outline so I’d know what would be in each chapter. So I started to draft out my outline but it got too complicated. I needed more time to think about how I would develop the story. I needed more time and the first day was nearly over. I needed to write something. Then I gave up.

The lesson? I needed my story outline before NaNoWriMo started so that when it was Day 1, I could imediately start writing.

Oh well.

Leave a Reply

